The Biggest Business Mistake I Ever Made Was Listening To The Wrong People

Sophia Matveeva
3 min readOct 16, 2020
Sophia Matveeva, Founder of Enty and Tech for Non-Techies

The recent rainy weather in London and tightening social restrictions have meant that I spent a lot of time at home. This turned into a period of reflection on my business.

I’ve made many mistakes as an entrepreneur, but that is just part of the founding journey. Especially if you are creating a company for the first time, you will have blind spots.

Most of the time, I have a fairly zen attitude towards them.

If you’ve learnt something from the mistake, it wasn’t a mistake, it was a lesson.

I’ve paid $180,000 to get my MBA, which gave me useful business lessons, so I believe in paying to learn the skills you need to grow your business.

However, the mistake that still gets my blood boiling when I think about it, is when I listened to the wrong people.

Since entrepreneurship is so fashionable these days, and being a successful founder of a fashion or consumer brand is the epitome of cool, lots of people want get involved.

But they don’t want to do any actual work or take any real risk.

This is why you see many people calling themselves advisors on their LinkedIn.

--

--

Sophia Matveeva

CEO & Founder of Tech for Non-Techies. Podcast host. Board Member, University of Chicago Alumni Chicago Booth MBA. techfornontechies.co